Twenty-two: Blackbird Makati

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Hello again, blog! I know I’ve been on hiatus for far too long already so I’m finally working on the huge backlog of posts I’ve got lined up. So many wonderful and exciting things have happened in the past few months and I promise I’ll write about all of them soon! But to get this blog back on track I’m starting off with a fairly recent one: my 22nd birthday celebration at Blackbird Makati. ☺

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Blackbird is an aviation-themed contemporary European and Asian restaurant owned by Chef Colin Mackay, the culinary genius behind Manila’s famed Sala and People’s Palace restaurants. Named after the world’s fastest air-breathing manned aircraft, it is located at the Nielson Tower in Ayala Triangle.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Built in 1937, the Nielson Tower was once a part of the old Manila International Airport – the first airport ever built in the country. Its Art Deco elements and status as a heritage site proved very useful to Chef Mackay, who was able to transform Ayala’s only pre-WW2 structure into a sophisticated and contemporary international dining space.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

In case you want to relax and have a few drinks first before your meal, the restaurant has a wonderful al fresco bar area at the back. There’s also a lounge inside the building inspired by airport waiting rooms and Art Deco.

At the top of the restaurant’s spiral staircase you’ll find the historic Airport Terminal Tower, where the first news of the bombing of Pearl Harbor was heard. I was hoping we’d be seated somewhere with a good view so I couldn’t be happier when I found out that my companion had gotten us a table at the top of the tower itself.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Chef’s special for the night: Duck Breast Salad (P640 + 10% service charge)

Instead of choosing our appetizers from the menu, we decided to give the chef’s specials for that night a try. This one was definitely our favorite. The duck was cooked perfectly and its rich taste blended so well with the sweetness of the marinated apples, the slight tang from the cheese, and the crunch from the pistachio crumble.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Dry Rubbed Wagyu Hangar Steak, Mustard Butter, Fries (P980 + 10% service charge)

Always my favorite main. The medium rare steak was rich, buttery, and extremely tender – just the way Wagyu beef should be. ♥

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Lamb Rendang, Fried Egg, Pickles, Rice (P760 + 10% service charge)

I’m also a huge fan of lamb and I really enjoyed the dish’s medley of spices and textures. ☺

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Burnt Butter & Vanilla Seed Ice Creams, Chocolate Brownie, Candied Popcorn, Salted Caramel (P380 + 10% service charge)

You can probably see it from the photo but this was one indulgent dessert. We had to share since there was a lot (and we were full na haha)! I loved how the burnt butter ice cream carried such a rich buttery taste, and the fact that the dessert wasn’t too cloying thanks to the salty caramel and popcorn.

We didn’t take photos of our drinks but the Blackbird Iced Tea and Salty Lime Soda (I honestly can’t remember what it’s called, will check. Sorry!) were both good. They have a nice selection of wines too but we’re not too fond of wines (we’ll learn how to /adult/ some other time hahaha).

2016-07-26 08.43.17 1

Dining here is always such a feast for the eyes and the palate. The elegant, contemporary design coupled with the place’s historical significance gives Blackbird an undeniable and timeless charm. If you want to celebrate, go on a date, or just enjoy good food with friends and loved ones, this is the ideal place. It’ll always be one of our favorite restos for sure. ☺

BLACKBIRD by Chef Colin Mackay
Nielson Tower, Ayala Triangle, Makati City 
Telephone: 828-4888
Operating Hours: Open Daily 11.00am to 12.00mn
Budget: Around 2500-3000 per head (or more depending on the wine)

P.S. I promise I’ll work on all my other overdue ones soon! ☺

4 thoughts on “Twenty-two: Blackbird Makati

  1. Jakey @ Tarot and Coffee says:

    Wow, I frequently pass by those parts in Ayala Triangle but I never really haven’t tried to explore what’s going on inside that place. Perhaps I should start to. You shot impressive photos here. 🙂

    Belated happy birthday, and I hope you had a good one!

    • Chloe C. says:

      Aww thank you so much! I’m glad you liked the photos haha ☺ But yeah, it’s a wonderful place to have a quiet dinner + drinks.

      I know there are a lot of nice places around Ayala/ Salcedo/ Legaspi but I haven’t been able to check ’em all out yet, hopefully soon! ^u^

Share your thoughts! :)

