Gin & Botanicals: Bar Flora’s Tea Cocktails & Delectable Bites

I first came across the budding profile of Bar Flora over 3 weeks ago, as it teased the concept of gin and tea cocktails in a botanical-themed setting. On its own, the idea was already promising enough, but it was their photo grid teasing a visually stunning menu and ambience that sealed the deal for me. I knew I had to visit as soon as we got back from HK.

I’ve always been a sucker for IYKYK haunts that serve up unique experiences, and the by-reservation only Bar Flora is definitely one of those spaces. Only accessible through a nondescript staircase in F7 Rallos, it doesn’t even have a sign – marked instead by a heavy wooden door with a few sprigs of eucalyptus. I ended up booking a table with friends last Saturday night and let me just say, the bar exceeded all of our expectations.

What was supposed to be only two hours of catching up turned into over five hours of us sampling their curated cocktails while soaking in the gorgeous interiors. As soon as you push open the door, you’re instantly greeted by the bar’s understated elegance – dark green interiors, textured concrete and wooden walls, and a wooden apothecary cabinet illuminated only by the candles on each table.

But, since I reserved early, I got the table I wanted right by what is undoubtedly the centerpiece of it all – a stunning frosted glass wall filled with plants and illuminated from the inside. It fits perfectly with the rest of the bar’s tasteful design and is something I definitely don’t see often.

Bar Flora’s interiors set up the atmosphere perfectly for their curated selection of cocktails, which harmoniously blend together various teas and alcohol. Each drink is carefully and painstakingly crafted and it shows – not just through the bold and creative flavors but even in how each cocktail is presented to reflect its character.

Take for example, the fiery Bengal Bird. Richly spiced with Tanqueray Malacca, Campari, chai, and pineapple, this cocktail is served in a unique glass in the shape of its namesake. Even if you’re not into florals and citrusy notes (those usually associated with tea) don’t fret, they have something for everyone here. They even have TeaTails, refreshing tea drinks without the alcohol, for when you’re planning to wind down already for the night.

One of my first drinks of the night was the BKK Boba Job Thai, a blend of Bottega Bacur, Tanqueray, Thai tea, and brown sugar syrup topped with silky condensed milk foam and a garnish of boba. There’s also the Amber Road, a velvety elixir of lychee, rich cacao tieguanyin syrup, and Hendrick’s gin, with a touch of indulgent cacao bitters.

We must’ve sampled 12 or so drinks among the four of us that night, but what made our stay even more memorable were the absolutely delicious Pan-Asian bites that paired perfectly with our cocktails. I’m not even joking when I say that we ended up trying the entire food menu because each dish we ordered just never missed in terms of presentation and flavor.

One of my favorites was the Fresh Tuna on Toasted Rice, small bites of tuna sashimi topped with torched mayo, nori, and tobiko and placed on round medallions of toasted rice. There was also their fresh and flavorful Salmon with Rice Crisps, a medley of chopped fresh salmon, nori, tomatoes, tobiko, and mayonnaise served on top of a bed of fluffy whipped avocado with huge rice paper crackers on the side.

Another hit that we ordered twice were their Pork Baos – deceivingly simple but executed well through succulent slices of soy-flavored pork tucked in between fluffy white baos with coriander and other fresh greens. We also couldn’t get enough of their rich Butter Chicken and their Money Bag dumplings.

It’s actually surprising that there hasn’t been any mainstream noise surrounding this place – not even from the usual influencers I follow. But I guess that does fit the vibe they’re going for, if they want to maintain its speakeasy-like status. I just had to write about it since I feel like it’s an experience worth having, but I wouldn’t mind if it stayed our little secret!

I believe they’re currently on hiatus while they study their current menu and try to improve and innovate even further. But I’m sure many of their patrons are excitedly awaiting their return, and I can’t wait to bring even more of my friends here once they do.

Share your thoughts! :)